Why I am a Conservative Constitutionalist

Originally posted 4/11/10

There are people in this country who, if they had their way, would shut down every strip club in the country. Many of us wouldn’t mind that. Our neighborhoods would be safer, husbands would be home at night, there might be fewer sexual crimes, and our society would spend less time looking at women as objects and instead looking at them as individuals.

There are people in this country who, if they had their way, would shut down every church in the country. Many of them wouldn’t mind that either. People could spend Sunday morning drinking, Sunday night with a whore, and not feel an ounce of guilt about it. They could walk to work without having to fear someone telling them God loves them, and walk home at night not having to fear someone telling them God hates their sin.

There are people in our country who only eat vegetables, tofu, black bean burgers and the like. They believe that eating meat is disgusting. Then there are others who love a steak and a beer and don’t care if eating that steak makes it 81.5 degrees out instead of 81.4.

This is why I am a Conservative Constitutionalist. Our founders came from a society where their government told them who and how they could worship. Their government sent them to wars, not for protection but for expansion of the empire. Their government did not listen to their voice, but “took care of them”. In exchange, they belonged to the government. Their money was the king’s property, to be surrendered upon demand. Their homes were military barracks on loan to them. Their speech was regulated. Their writings could put them at the end of a noose. What the government said was truth, even when it contradicted fact and conscience.

Our founders created a society of individual freedom. Each man is responsible for the application and management of his own destiny, rights, and pursuit of happiness. The “king” is subject to the same laws as the “subjects”. In fact, not only are the leaders subject to the same laws as everyone else, but they are also subject to popular removal. Every four years we have a bloodless revolution.

I am a Conservative Constitutionalist because I believe in my right to choose – not to choose whether I can kill someone, steal from someone, or break the common laws that we as a nation have approved under the limitations of our constitution, but to choose whether I want to drink or go to church. To choose whether I want to save for retirement or buy a hot tub and work till I die. To choose whether I want to pay more for my health care and eat burgers every day or pay more for the gym and look like an athlete. Whether I want to drive a Hummer or an electric golf cart. These are my choices because the Constitution limits the government’s ability to take my rights away.

I have the right to call my president a god or a moron. I have the right to shoot attackers, whether criminal or governmental. I have the right to let a US soldier whom I hardly know live in my house for half a year (which I did once) or to tell that soldier to take a hike. I have the right to kill someone in cold blood in front of witnesses and be tried by a jury of my peers before society has a right to sentence me to death for it. I have a right to choose who I do and don’t associate with. I have a right to worship my dog or my God however I want. I have the right to vote for someone to be the leader of my nation because I think they have a strong chin and I don’t like that the other guy is a Buddhist. I have a right to live by these freedoms without the fear that another nation, state, city, or homeowner’s association will remove my rights without my consent. I have the right to start a business, make a million dollars, and spend every penny of it (aside from the taxes necessary for efficient government) on Twinkies. I have the right to choose not to buy government-taxed tea.

At least that’s the way it’s supposed to work.

Instead, the government takes 12.4% of my income off the top and puts it towards an underfunded retirement I may never see. The government forces me to buy health insurance from heavily taxed companies – absolutely no different than when the government forced the colonists to buy heavily taxed tea. The government takes almost half of my income. What do I get in exchange? The government spends my money telling me and my family how the government thinks I should live. The government takes my money and spends it to deny fifth, seventh and fourteenth amendment rights to the unborn. The government exempts office-holders from these very laws that they impose on the rest of us. The government calls me a radical and a terrorist, when our own President began his political career hand in hand with real terrorists who have committed real violent acts. The government has decided what my happiness should be, takes my means from me, and tries to pursue it for me.

But the very nature of government is that its own limitations now become my limitations. The government buys my health insurance, but can’t afford to insure my lifestyle. Therefore, I can no longer smoke and drink without paying penalties to the government. And soon, if I eat burgers every day I will not be able to enjoy rationed health care privileges that were rights just a few months ago. I will not be able to start and run a business because the government needs my profits. But I will also no longer have the right to waste my talents as I see fit since the government cannot afford to exist without them.

Instead of making and producing goods and services that people want and need at prices they can afford, the government demands that we produce goods and services that the government thinks we need and want at prices the government demands. That is not conservatism; that is not constitutionalism.

The greater good can only be achieved through the will of the greater majority. When we no longer trust the masses is when the masses become slaves to the Machiavellian few. And when the Machiavellian few are handed the keys to all our dreams and happiness is when suddenly the governing become the privileged and “lobbying” those in power is the only avenue left for happiness. Haven’t we already seen this with the deals in the stimulus and health care bills? It will only get worse.

I am a Republican, but I am a Conservative Constitutionalist first. It is not the government’s job to take care of me, put a roof over my head, provide me happiness, feed me, or buy my health care. It is the government’s job to get out of my way, pave the road in front of me, and keep all others not subject to the same protections of citizenship to our government from hindering me. Anything beyond that is a usurpation of my freedom and individual responsibility.

2 Responses to “Why I am a Conservative Constitutionalist”


  1. 1 This is shitty writing April 18, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Just lol. Just naming amendments doesn’t make you a Constitutionalist. Article II, commerce clause, allows legislature to legislate on any issue that affects interstate commerce, ie healthcare. C’mon dunce. This is Con Law I kind of material. A constitutionalist like you would know that. Additoinally, SCOTUS held that 5th, 14th, doesn’t apply to fetus’, and the same holding has been made in application to criminal law. Dude, you don’t know anything about the Constitution.

    Good laugh though.

  2. 2 ikefriday April 19, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Actually, that is pretty funny since for almost 200 years SCOTUS held that the 5th and 14th didn’t apply to blacks either. For almost 100 years the 5th didn’t even provide “separate but equal”. I suppose you would have made for a good southern Democrat.

    I would encourage you to read the “commerce clause” and then write an intelligent response of why you agree with a healthcare bill that suggest that the language in the commerce clause allows Congress to regulate health insurance, especially when you can’t buy across state lines. That kinda ruins the whole “interstate commerce” argument in my opinion.


Leave a Reply

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Categories


